3 Foot Nano Tank

Discussion in 'Tank Builds' started by eschulist, Mar 2, 2012.

  1. OP
    eschulist

    eschulist That Office Nano Guy
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1,660
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Maplewood, MN, United States
    I know! It turned out to be so simple.

    Whats nice is the Jebao has an auto off feature as well buts its 2 minutes. The siphon restarts faster than that, but if something would go wrong the pump wouldn't be spurting air forever. It is still grabbing quite a bit of water to the keep the shaft and innards wet so I don't think its very dangerous for the pump. Or maybe it would never auto shutoff as it is grabbing water the whole time.
     
    #521 eschulist, Mar 3, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2017
  2. OP
    eschulist

    eschulist That Office Nano Guy
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1,660
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Maplewood, MN, United States
    Playing around with something new that showed up today!!

    Neptunes Auto Top Off Kit
    Fluid Metering Module, PMUP, Magnetic Optical Sensor bracket, and accessories.

    [​IMG]

    I tried to use a 5 gallon jug I had but the PMUP was just a tiny bit too big to fit in the hole. So to test it out I needed to improvise. My real ATO container will be delivered on Tuesday so hopefully that has a hole large enough :fingers crossed:

    [​IMG]

    All hooked up

    [​IMG]
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Bschowa

    Bschowa I contributed!
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,239
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Big lake
    Does the fmm have a third port to put another optical sensor in your top off container or are they all used up with that sensor bracket? Can't wait to hear your reviews on this setup


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. Leicester56

    Leicester56 I contributed!
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    130
    Location:
    Shoreview
    Definitely interested to hear your thoughts on the ATO after you have been running it awhile.
     
  5. David Grigor

    David Grigor TCMAS Old Timer
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    16,885
    Likes Received:
    388
    Location:
    Brooklyn Center
    My only issue with that is the float valve for a fair number of people is probably useless. The water level in your sump which is usually on the ground most times is LOWER than the height of your water container when full. So having float valve on an all in one bracket would go unused unless you incorporate a solenoid + pump.
     
  6. Jonty

    Jonty I contributed!
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    96
    I think the float switch is just a fail safe, there is a solenoid and Pump as primary.
     
  7. David Grigor

    David Grigor TCMAS Old Timer
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    16,885
    Likes Received:
    388
    Location:
    Brooklyn Center
    Solenoid doesn't come with the top off kit. Purchase seperately.
     
  8. David Grigor

    David Grigor TCMAS Old Timer
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    16,885
    Likes Received:
    388
    Location:
    Brooklyn Center
    Solenoid doesn't come with the top off kit. Purchase seperately. So if you use it as it comes your either limited to the height of your top off container no taller than the sump water level or don't use the float valve and mount your output higher.
     
  9. OP
    eschulist

    eschulist That Office Nano Guy
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1,660
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Maplewood, MN, United States

    All the Fluid Metering Modules have 4 ports. The Auto Top Off Kit requires port 1 and 2 to be used for the optical sensors on the bracket. If you DO NOT use an apex the other 2 can be used for leak detection or 2 optical sensors. Port 3 for a very high level sensor in sump and port 4 to use in your ATO container to warn you when its almost empty. If you DO use an Apex port 3-4 could be used for anything including the flow meters. And you can change the built in delays and timings with the apex. In standalone mode all of those are built into the FMM itself and they can not be changed.

    There is a lot of cool features built in using it standalone already though so its pretty nice.

    Will do!

    Its just the standard manual float. Normally the float is 1-2" above the water level when the opticals are in working order (99% of the time) so a siphon would never form.
    So when installed and both opticals fail the PMUP would continue to run but once the float engages it would cut off water from entering the sump. The PMUP will run for a maximum of 10 minutes and then shut off and send an alert / alarm.

    The Solenoid is seperate and not included by default. If you really wanted to connect to your RODI system they give you the option but the solenoid has other uses in calcium reactors that you can trigger on and off.
     
  10. David Grigor

    David Grigor TCMAS Old Timer
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    16,885
    Likes Received:
    388
    Location:
    Brooklyn Center
    100% of the time it will siphon when your top off container is taller than the water level in your sump. Doesn't matter how many opticals you have. So if sump is on the floor and your water level is say 6-8" your topoff container can't be taller or it will siphon. Most would need to mount the output higher than float valve. That's why the float valve its pretty worthless for alot of systems.
     
    #530 David Grigor, Mar 31, 2017
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2017
  11. Jonty

    Jonty I contributed!
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    96
    At macna I thought they said the solenoid was included.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  12. Jonty

    Jonty I contributed!
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    96
    It needs a siphon break, are they assuming this is connected directly to an RO unit?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  13. OP
    eschulist

    eschulist That Office Nano Guy
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1,660
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Maplewood, MN, United States
    There were a few users on the Neptune forum creating siphon breakers with push connect t fittings with a check valve on one branch.

    The pump is part of the package. Maybe they just said you could do the solenoid if you wanted.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  14. clownnut

    clownnut TUNNWOLC
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    3,807
    Likes Received:
    73
  15. OP
    eschulist

    eschulist That Office Nano Guy
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1,660
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Maplewood, MN, United States
    Luckily my setup does not create a siphon but for many others I can see this being a problem. Passed along the feedback.
     
  16. OP
    eschulist

    eschulist That Office Nano Guy
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1,660
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Maplewood, MN, United States
    Finally got my real ATO and dosing containers!


    My mounting board is now gone and I'm going to mount the powerbar to the back wall and the apex head unit on the right. All cords will be contained behind the Alk and Ca containers and covered with a walnut board.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    PMUP was a perfect fit. Added the optical sensor on the bottom and tested that out as well.

    [youtube]bNWWosjGDtY[/youtube]
     
  17. Fishfoo

    Fishfoo Junior Member
    TCMAS Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2016
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Champlin
    Looks like the reservoir and dosing containers were a perfect fit as well. Looking clean as always!
     
  18. ikserk

    ikserk Administrator
    Site Admin Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,751
    Likes Received:
    289
    Location:
    New Hope, MN
    Eric, does the optical sensor come with a gasket to be used in an application like yours? obviously, it creates a water tight seal since its not leaking on your ATO container, but did you have to do anything extra to achieve that?
     
    • Informative Informative x 1
  19. OP
    eschulist

    eschulist That Office Nano Guy
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    1,660
    Likes Received:
    193
    Location:
    Maplewood, MN, United States
    Optical sensors come with a small white gasket. I was really scared to put a hole and sensor in my brand new container, in case it did leak or if I ever decide to go without the Pmup and fluid metering stuff. But it turned out quite well and automatically shuts off power to the PMUP if it gets that low. A bunch of Neptune members on the beta forum are saying I put my sensor too low. I actually wish I put it 1/4" lower so I wasted even less water. :Shrug:
     
  20. Greentree

    Greentree Junior Member
    TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2016
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN

Share This Page