Best Auto Water Change?

Discussion in 'Equipment: Setup and Discussion' started by RSnodgrass, Nov 8, 2018.

  1. RSnodgrass

    RSnodgrass TCMAS President
    BOD Lifetime Member Event Committee

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,910
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    Lynd, MN, United States
    I'm contemplating an auto water change mainly because I don't want to measure 2-part and my RO/DI is already geared for it with my barrel tender.

    I'm curious what people are using for this and how long it's been running and/or how hard it is on pumps, etc.

    Keep in mind I have a 300gal so the amount of water it changes could be cause for excessive wear and tear/reliability concerns on some options.
     
  2. DarkSky

    DarkSky I contributed!
    Lifetime Member Event Committee

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Eden Prairie
    You have an Apex, right?

    The DOS makes auto water change easy. If you're already in the Neptune ecosystem, consider it.
     
  3. AsianReef

    AsianReef Former: 90ct
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    114
    I wouldn’t relied water change on DOS. It’s not accurate is the first thing. Second, it take forever for such as large system as yours Ryan. Get a Cole Parmer pump with double heads. It will get the job done.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. OP
    RSnodgrass

    RSnodgrass TCMAS President
    BOD Lifetime Member Event Committee

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,910
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    Lynd, MN, United States
    I should have known better then to Google that... I could buy a used car for that price lol!
     
  5. AsianReef

    AsianReef Former: 90ct
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,672
    Likes Received:
    114
    Not necessary Ryan. Get a used one. Sometimes you can find some good deal on those pump on Ebay.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. DarkSky

    DarkSky I contributed!
    Lifetime Member Event Committee

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Eden Prairie
  7. DarkSky

    DarkSky I contributed!
    Lifetime Member Event Committee

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2016
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    243
    Location:
    Eden Prairie
  8. nox.rupaw

    nox.rupaw I contributed!
    Lifetime Member TCMAS Member TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Messages:
    358
    Likes Received:
    75
    Location:
    Eden Prairie
    Sell the the tank...get a cole parmer.
    [​IMG]
     
    • Like Like x 6
  9. whotzler

    TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Jackson, MN, USA
    Anyone try using 2 submersible pumps. One in sump one in new saltwater. Use level sensors set 1 gallon apart in sump. Use apex to drain out to lower switch with sump pump and fill to upper switch with water source pump? Set to repeat as many gallons you want to change in a day.
     
  10. OP
    RSnodgrass

    RSnodgrass TCMAS President
    BOD Lifetime Member Event Committee

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    3,910
    Likes Received:
    477
    Location:
    Lynd, MN, United States
    Kinda along the lines of what I was thinking... just a matter of what pump.

    Or what about two RO booster pumps?
     
  11. TommyOan

    TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2017
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Maplewood, MN, United States
  12. Nezw0001

    Nezw0001 I contributed!
    Lifetime Member Event Committee

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    west central MN
    I just use two better quality submersibles like eheim. The submersible pumps new saltwater back in and is triggered by a float switch. I skim wet and use that as the removal method. Then i have another small eheim for my freshwater and have that on an APEX OSC command and adjust the run time to keep salinity stable.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Flounder

    Flounder BRS Reef Squad!
    TCMAS Member TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    4,035
    Likes Received:
    194
    Location:
    Crystal
    Genesis water change system
     
    • Like Like x 1
  14. whotzler

    TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Jackson, MN, USA
    I was thinking just some cheap AC pumps from amazon. This would not be a critical life supporting function in my system. If a pump failed I would get an alarm from the apex, worst case I would be a gallon short in the sump until I was able to deal with it. If I was to be away for a weekend or longer I would just turn the function off for that time. 10 to 20 bucks in pumps and some switches, bingo bango.
     
  15. whotzler

    TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2018
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Jackson, MN, USA
    I really like the idea of controlling off of salinity inputs. It makes perfect sense when trying to factor top off water combined saltwater changes, but have heard several complain about them not being reliable. Do you have any problems yours?
     
  16. Nezw0001

    Nezw0001 I contributed!
    Lifetime Member Event Committee

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2012
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    west central MN
    I do not rely on the salinity probe. it is not reliable enough. i use it for general trends and manually check once a week
     

Share This Page