Controller for multiple systems?

Discussion in 'General Reef Discussion' started by csb123, Oct 26, 2017.

  1. csb123

    csb123 Senior Member
    TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Vadnais Heights, MN
    Fishies collected:
    6,571
    I’m in the market for a controller and I a few specific needs.

    I’m out of town frequently and often for prolonged periods of time. I usually have a house sitter but they are often not aquarists. Most of my stuff is already automated and I mostly need a controller for alerts when something is failing. Water levels, wet floors, temperature,pH,and power outages.

    I’d like a back up cellular unit for text alerts when the WiFi goes down.

    I need to monitor 3 systems: the reef, and indoor koi pond, and an outdoor koi pond.

    dKH monitoring, when it comes out, will be a big plus for the reef.

    I’ve been looking at the Profilux and Apex.

    What do you folks suggest?
     
  2. ikserk

    ikserk Administrator
    Staff Member Site Admin Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    New Hope, MN
    Fishies collected:
    9,757
    The Apex for sure doesn't (and I don't think the profilux does either) have cellular ability. but if the apex is linked to fusion (their cloud service) then fusion will send out a message if it can't communicate with your apex for 30-some minutes letting you know that the power is out or your internet service is down.
     
  3. Flounder

    Flounder Senior Member
    TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,586
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Crystal
    Fishies collected:
    26,033
    Apex. With fusion it can text me.... but only if the power is on.
     
  4. Flounder

    Flounder Senior Member
    TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,586
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Crystal
    Fishies collected:
    26,033
    While you can get a battery back up, your router, which is also off during power outage can't complete the text
     
  5. Flounder

    Flounder Senior Member
    TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    3,586
    Likes Received:
    77
    Location:
    Crystal
    Fishies collected:
    26,033
    But there are ways around that with enough work and planning
     
  6. ikserk

    ikserk Administrator
    Staff Member Site Admin Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    New Hope, MN
    Fishies collected:
    9,757
    i should add that this feature is called "Heartbeat" and you have to turn it on. It is not on by default.
     
  7. marty9876

    marty9876 Banned
    Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    195
    Location:
    TCMAS
    Fishies collected:
    14,796
    For internet connection redundancy you can use thing like this:
     
  8. OP
    csb123

    csb123 Senior Member
    TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Vadnais Heights, MN
    Fishies collected:
    6,571
    Are any of you controlling more than 1 system with your apex?
     
  9. ikserk

    ikserk Administrator
    Staff Member Site Admin Lifetime Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    1,290
    Likes Received:
    94
    Location:
    New Hope, MN
    Fishies collected:
    9,757
    I am controlling 2 at the moment and will be expanding to 4 total in the coming months.
     
  10. zoolan70

    zoolan70 Senior Member
    Staff Member BOD Lifetime Member Event Committee

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,170
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Hudson, WI
    Fishies collected:
    19,260
    I have done up to three in the past. If you want to be super-redundant you can get a wireless router like a Synology that has the ability to use both an ethernet primary internet connection and a cell backup connection. Of course, you would need them all plugged into a UPS, but even the smallest UPS would power a cable modem, cell modem, and router for hours. No controller has a native option for cell connectivity.

    You may want to look into IP cameras as well for your systems. I have one on the back of my 500 so I can see if there are any leaks and to make sure everything is running. It doesn't have a great picture, but it gives me an overview look at least.
     
  11. OP
    csb123

    csb123 Senior Member
    TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Vadnais Heights, MN
    Fishies collected:
    6,571
    The ip camera is a great idea. I’ll look into that.
     
  12. zoolan70

    zoolan70 Senior Member
    Staff Member BOD Lifetime Member Event Committee

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    3,170
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    Hudson, WI
    Fishies collected:
    19,260
    It can also be useful for busting your house sitter if they are doing nefarious things. Don't ask me how I know that...
     

Share This Page