Coral question

Discussion in 'General Reef Discussion' started by LilReef, Jun 13, 2011.

1. LilReef

Fishies collected:
    Are there any corals that you do not have to frag? I'm new to the world of corals (my tanks has been running for a couple of years) and it seems like they all do at some point. I just don't want something that will take over my tank like Aptasia. I have a 30 gallon with 30 + lbs of live rock and 2 power heads and want to start keeping corals and I'm trying to decide if I should go with led's or t5 for lighting. I'm no expert so I don't want very sensitive corals . I want a nice variety of corals to bring nice colors to my tank. What else will a clown host besides anem? Hubs like's purple tip Anem not sure if I want one.

Any suggestions?

I have clown fish, fire fish,hermits, peppermint shrimp that may have go go if I add corals I don't want shrimp to eat them.

#1 LilReef, Jun 13, 2011
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2011
  2. Flounder

Flounder Senior Member
    TCMAS Supporter

Fishies collected:
    Are there any corals that you do not have to frag?
    A: I dont think so. Hopefully everything you have will be healthy and grow! Fragging is easy and in many cases is a decent source of revenue. *You can cross that bridge when you get there. (There are many corals that grow in width, or numbers but not size. Like Zoanthids or Green Star Poylps. You wouldnt have to trim those back in size, but overtime probably in numbers)

Should I go with led's or t5 for lighting. I'm no expert so I don't want very sensitive corals .
    A: Both would suit you just fine. One is much more expensive up front. (LED) but does offer some long term payoffs. You would be able to raise any type of coral under either of those lightings. This gives you the flexibility to start off with easy corals and work your way into some that may be more challenging.