Help me chose a Camera

Discussion in 'Photography' started by Jonty, Mar 1, 2016.

1. Jonty

Jonty I contributed!
    Lifetime Member

Fishies collected:
    Trying to decide between.
    1. Canon mark 5DS Mark 4 with a Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM Lens
    2. Pentax 645Z with a D FA 645 Macro 90mm f/2.8 ED AW SR Lens

Mainly used for Tank shots and casual outdoor photography, I used a Canon 1Ds for years and got out and sold body and lenses. (big mistake in hindsight)

#1 Jonty, Mar 1, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 1, 2016
  2. cathorn

cathorn Senior Member
    TCMAS Member

Fishies collected:
    Hello: You could try Ben Nicholls, a TCMAS member. He taught a camera class last year for the members. Good luck

3. Travis Dragan

Travis Dragan I contributed!
    Lifetime Member TCMAS Supporter

Fishies collected:
    I like Cannons, the Mark d is a good choice in my opinion, i have little experience with the pentax

4. jlanger

jlanger "The North Remembers"
    Lifetime Member

Fishies collected:
    One suggestion made to me was that if you get the same brand of camera as other people you know, you have a resource for user experiences and possible lens trades.

I have a Canon and recently picked up a used Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L Macro IS USM Lens (you were there); and I really like it. Not that I know an extensive amount about getting the best use from the camera or lens, I am pleased with the photos that I can take.

5. Bschowa

Bschowa I contributed!
    Lifetime Member

Fishies collected:
    I would Go with the cannon(might be biased), especially if you already had one that you liked, knowing the basics of the interface already will jump start the process. I've shot a 60d and 7d before I sold them. Wish I would have kept the 60d now that my corals are starting to grow.