HELP PLEASE: Saltwater Kenya Tree Cora

Discussion in 'Young reefing forum' started by xaivang, Mar 11, 2013.

1. xaivang

Fishies collected:
    Hello there TCMAS people, I have a couple question that i want to ask if someone can please help me out. i have a biocube 14 gallon and it has a Kenya Tree Cora in there. everyday when i look at it it looks really nice and big when it opens. but now for the past couple days it just been looking like its dying each day. should i give it some kind of supplement? or what should i do. i just did a water change and not sure what its happening... once again im new to this hobby. i just started 1 month ago.

2. scubaspew

scubaspew Starfish
    Lifetime Member

Fishies collected:
    It's likely that the water changed improved your water quality! Kenya trees supposedly feed on nitrates in the tank so it is common for them to pissed for a few days after a large water change, it'll bounce back, you can't kill those things! Seriously I've always felt like it's a good barometer for water change time, when that thing starts growing, I always do a water change! I don't have one anymore but when I did. This is just what I've experienced, there is little to no scientific research that proves what I am saying that I have found, though I have found many others that have had similar experiences with this coral.

3. David Grigor

David Grigor TCMAS Old Timer
    Lifetime Member Event Committee

Fishies collected:
    They can go through stages and look like crap for a few days to a couple of weeks then completely back to normal.

However, if your still concerned you want to do the feel test. Now the base portion will always be harder and less rubbery but if you give a gentle rub and it doesn't just flake off and dissintegrate then it's just fine. If it does start to fall apart with a rub then it's in real trouble.

4. curlyq

Fishies collected: