Opinions on the best low end led units...

Discussion in 'General Reef Discussion' started by dougers31, Nov 20, 2017.

1. dougers31

dougers31 Senior Member
    TCMAS Member

Fishies collected:
    Thinking about switching my frag tank over to led's from t5's. Looking for something under $170 that would cover an area of approx 24x16. Also looking for reliability(3 years or more), decent growth, and compatible for all kinds of corals. The water level in the frag tank is about 8 inches deep or so. If all goes well eventually might consider switching my display over as well but that's quite a ways down the road. I've heard mixed reviews(most good) of the Chinese led boxes(120-165watt)ranging from $95-$140, but most of the reviews I've read are only a year old or so.

Any input would be appreciated :)

2. Nickz

Nickz Senior Member
    Staff Member BOD Lifetime Member Event Committee

Fishies collected:
    I've been running the sbreeflights for a couple years, no issues they have a modified spectrum and better optics and parts than the black box brs tested.

I will also add in the brs testing video used the marsaqua which I have also used in the past but would not put as good as the sbreeflights. The biggest problem for me was they ran 60 degree optics vs the normal 90 and 120 degree.

I have also run a couple different versions of evergrow leds in the past with no issues.

#2 Nickz, Nov 20, 2017
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2017
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. Dana

Dana Junior Member
    TCMAS Member

Fishies collected: