75 gallon second starter build

Discussion in 'Tank Builds' started by Rendgrish, Aug 4, 2018.

1. Rendgrish

Rendgrish Junior Member
    TCMAS Member

I'm new to the hobby, and setup a Biocube 32 back in April. Things have been going pretty well (minus an incident of marine velvet in quarantine- I've since from an observation to treatment based QT), except for the inevitable issue with such a small tank.. no room for more corals. Based on the space I have available, I decided a 75 is the right size for me, and picked up a new 75 Marineland (not reef ready). So not my first tank, but my first real build (and the size I should have started with to begin). I wanted to share my progress - and also allow people to point out anything really dumb that I need to fix.

Here's my existing tank. Current residents are a watchman goby and a firefish, corals consist of (and may not be correctly named):
    Hammer coral (partially mottled metallic green)
    Purple/green Hammer
    Kenya tree
    Ultra War favites (hard to see in photo)
    Trumpet coral
    GSP (on their own rock)
    Red Acan
    Purpleish discoma
    Unspecified brain coral
    neon green hairy mushroom
    Two yellow/orange hammers, they look more pink to me, could be lighting (they're recent additions and might still be adjusting?)
    Blue Symposium (again, on it's own rock)
    Mint Pavona (hidden behind the symposium here)
    Pink gorgonian

New tank:

Leak testing tank and sump

Next steps-
    Drill back for Eclipse return (large size, so two holes)
    Drill back for 3/4" loc line
    Paint back black
    Pressure wash the rest of my Reef Saver rock when it gets here
    Install new GFCI outlet in wall, run a second outlet higher up to power the lights
    Silicone inside corners of stand to prevent leaks. I'm contemplating the thought of waterproofing the entire bottom with a rubberized sealant.