Calcium reactors yes or no

Discussion in 'Equipment: Setup and Discussion' started by Nickz, Dec 17, 2019.

1. Nickz

Nickz Nobody
    BOD Lifetime Member Event Committee Meeting Host 2019

So, I've been considering a calcium reactor, and I keep hearing about people leaving them and going back to 2 part. Quite frankly I don't want to invest in one only to get rid of it so am looking for thoughts from those that have or had and are going away and why.

2. infinityends

infinityends Senior Member
    TCMAS Member

I have no first hand experience, but it is something I have been curious about for a while too. It will be interesting to see opinions/experiences

3. abhishek

abhishek Senior Member
    TCMAS Member

These are some of the questions am asked often and below are my answers :-

Is a calcium reactor needed - definitely not !

When to decide on calcium reactor - when your Alkalinity demand is so high that you fear of dumping a lot of it :D

Will it be an amazing addition making your tank stable - only after you have it dialed in .

Is it safer than 2 part with no danger of doser dumping excessive Alk - absolutely

Is it cheaper in the long run - depends but mostly you recoup the cost in years only

Is it costlier to setup - absolutely and cheating out on the initial setup will only cause headaches .

Is it difficult to dial in - not really but there are many variables to consider and its better to follow one method . Can discuss later

Do you start with automatic calcium reactor like dastaco or manual ones like geos - always start with manual ones to learn the basic working of calcium reactor . Then you can upgrade to automatic ones as going to automatic ones directly will only cause headaches

Do you need a dual stage custom regulator of high quality solenoid or a carbon doser - In my opinion , yes and a carbon doser is easier