Copper Power?

Discussion in 'General Reef Discussion' started by H2OHOH, Jul 22, 2020.

  1. H2OHOH

    H2OHOH Senior Member
    TCMAS Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    428
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    In a fish only tank, is it wise to use Copper Power. See a little itching from time to time. Does Copper Power hurt biological filtration and cause more trouble than good in a display tank? Any thoughts or suggestions?
     
  2. crayonbreaker

    crayonbreaker Senior Member
    TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,639
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Farmington Minnesota
  3. OldNemo

    OldNemo Senior Member
    TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Eagan
    Itching can me flukes as well. If no other visual signs of ich or velvet, you could dose prazi and see if that helps. If not, then I would pull fish and treat in separate tank.
     
  4. abhishek

    abhishek Senior Member
    TCMAS Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    198
    Location:
    Golden Valley
    Drop the fish in a 5 min freshwater first to confirm flukes .
    You would want to confirm ich or velvet and not flukes before dosing copper
     
  5. OP
    H2OHOH

    H2OHOH Senior Member
    TCMAS Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    428
    Location:
    Minneapolis
    If ich confirmed, recommendations? It is large tank, hard to catch fish
     
  6. OldNemo

    OldNemo Senior Member
    TCMAS Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    843
    Likes Received:
    126
    Location:
    Eagan
    If ICH, I'd do what I could to catch them all and treat in separate QT tanks. Then let DT sit fallow for 76 days or more.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. abhishek

    abhishek Senior Member
    TCMAS Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    198
    Location:
    Golden Valley
    I would listen to what @OldNemo said . Not that copper cannot be dosed in the tank but you have to deal with after effects . Plus water changes in a large tank and maintaining therapeutic level of copper at 2.5 will be very difficult in a large system . Not even considering all that will be absorbed by live rocks and sand if you have
     
    • Like Like x 1

Share This Page