Freshwater Filtration

Discussion in 'All things freshwater related' started by H2OHOH, Jun 8, 2018.

1. H2OHOH

H2OHOH Senior Member
    TCMAS Member

Can you use a traditional sump, with filter pad, and bio balls for Freshwater tank

What is the key to freshwater filtration

On a 50 Breeder

2. patent

patent Ok Moderator
    BOD Lifetime Member

You can certainly use a sump, filter pad and bio balls for freshwater. I think generally you don't need a sump, just more complication than most freshwater tanks need, but it would work. Many freshwater filters do use a filter pad, floss, or some other type of mechanical filtration. Bio balls probably work better on freshwater than on salt.

3. AmyZ

AmyZ I am the MOTHER
    BOD Lifetime Member Event Committee Meeting Host 2018

I prefer matten filters for freshwater filtration.
    Almost zero maintenance, I have one I've been running for 2-3 years and haven't had to clean it yet

4. jlanger

jlanger "The North Remembers"
    Lifetime Member Event Committee

There's not much of a difference between a sump and a typical external power filter. They're both boxes for placing filtration media outside of the display.
    Advantages for a sump would include the placement of heaters, more filtration options/capacity and no ugly boxes hanging off the back of the display.

5. capman

capman I contributed!
    Lifetime Member

Brad S (in the MAS) was telling me about these (and about the fact that the U.S. dealer for these is a local guy/MAS member - drawing a blank on his name at the moment). These seem almost too good to be true - this seems like very impressive filter material. I keep meaning to try this.

I need to read up more on this ( http://www.swisstropicals.com/library/mattenfilter/ ), but I''m wondering whether this would be the way to go for my marine quarantine/treatment system that I'll be setting up soon (along with a protein skimmer)?

6. AmyZ

AmyZ I am the MOTHER